THE PARK PEOPLE

Preserving, Restoring & Expanding Parks

2008 ROARD OF DIRECTORS

Edgar J. Marston III, Chair L. Diane Schenke, President Brad Cutsinger, Secretary Christine Griffith, Treasurer

Cathy Arnold Allison Wright Brooks Lee Collins Sheila Condon Jorge Cotte Cruz Tom Flaherty Patricia Kerrigan Tom Knode Susan Lawhon Jim Perry Andrew Price Margaret Vaughn Robinson Johnnie Randolph Candyce Rylander Taryn Sims Henderson J. Smith Jr. Margaret Symonds Merrie Talley-Pope Jose Villarreal Christina Wilkerson

STAFF

L. Diane Schenke
Executive Director & President
Sarah Jones
Director of Development
Connie Causey
Director of Administration

2008 ADVISORY COUNCIL

Tom Theriot, Chair Mrs. J.W. (Terry) Hershey, Chair-Emeritus Joe B. Allen Gregory J. Armstrong Keiji Asakura Evans S. Attwell Peggy Bailey Leslie Blanton Jane Block Jeffrey Bricker R. Kevin Brower Chuck Carlberg Jeanie Connell Allyson P. Cook Jed Day Nancy Hull Godsahll Wanna Hadnott Paula Savage Hansen Doris Heard Vernon G. Henry Wendy Hines Jodie L. Jiles Eileen Lawal Ann Lents Rafael Longoria Thomas V. McMahan

> Bill Merriman Larry Nettles

> > Sheela Rao

Peggy Ratcliffe Roe Anne A. Symonds Charles Tapley Anne P. Tucker Caro Ivy Walker Barron Wallace Austin Young December 9, 2008

Friends of West 11th Street Park c/o Lorraine Cherry, President 6046 Woodbrook Lane Houston, TX 77008

Dear Lorraine:

As Executive Director of The Park People, I write on behalf of the Board to notify you that you and the Houston Parks Board, the Houston Parks and Recreation Department, the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Houston Independent School District, Mayor Bill White, Senator John Whitmire, and City Council Member Toni Lawrence have been awarded the **Urban Greenery Award** for your joint efforts that resulted in the acquisition and protection of a 20+acre wooded park in a highly urbanized area inside Loop 610.

We will announce the award winners at a cocktail reception on **February 18, 2009** at The Grove at Discovery Green Park , at 1611 Lamar from 5:30-7:00. Carter Smith, the Executive Director of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, will be our guest speaker. We will again celebrate this year's annual awards winners at The Park People's 30th Anniversary Gala on **May 1, 2009** at the Hotel ZaZa, 5701 Main Street.

The February event will be a free event to all award winners; we will have hot and cold hors d'oeuvres and drinks, and make the awards that evening. The 30th Anniversary Gala dinner is a ticketed event; as an awards winner, you will receive one free ticket for the event. Funds generated by this event contribute to our organization's general operating costs and enable The Park People to continue improving Houston's quality of life through our work restoring, preserving and expanding parks, natural areas and trails.

Our warmest congratulations to you! We look forward to sharing these festive evenings with you.

chenhe

Sincerely,

Diane Schenke Transport of the Executive Director of the Executive Dir